The Republic Day is celebrated every year on January 26 to honour the date on which the Constitution of India came into effect in 1950. The celebration is held in grandeur in national capital’s India Gate. This year marks the 69th Republic Day of India and like every year, the highlight of the day is the parade that takes place at the India Gate.

This year, the Republic Day celebrations will have 10 heads from Thailand, Vietnam, Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Myanmar, Cambodia, Laos, and Brunei – as chief guests.
The 69th Republic Day parade will see participants not only from the Indian Army, Air Force, Navy, but it will also showcase over 700 students across the guest countries performing at the event.

And for the first time, a newly-formed all-woman bikers contingent of the Border Security Force (BSF) will make its debut on Rajpath on Republic Day. The 27-member BSF women ‘daredevils’ squad, named ‘Seema Bhavani’, will showcase their stunts and acrobatics on their 350cc Royal Enfield Bullet motorcycles.

26th January 1950, our Bharat became a full fledged Republic. All countrymen and women celebrated with fervour and enthusiasm. The Republic Day parade is telecasted live on the public service broadcaster, Doordarshan.